Distributor of Ideas

The Inertia

“This is probably the best I’ve ever surfed Chopes,” said Kelly Slater. Any time the words “best” and “ever” exit Kelly Slater’s mouth when referring to contest surfing, you best pay attention. Because that means something.

“It’s just big enough for that outside ledge to go hollow,” said Slater. “I would say it’s almost safe out there. … [It’s] taller seas, but shorter intervals. Chopes doesn’t like that 18-second interval, and this is 15 or so. This is where it gets beautiful.”

And the action certainly was gorgeous. Box scores below, but we’ll be glued to the computer for the call today – hopefully keep us in weekend mode for another 24 hours. Looks like the swell’s still building, so we could be in store for something special.

Tune in to the ASP for more action.


Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 2 Results (1st to Round 3, 2nd finishes Equal 25th):

Heat 12: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 13.27 def. Adam Melling (AUS) 8.83

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 3 Results (1st to Round 4, 2nd finishes Equal 13th):
Heat 1: Tiago Pires (PRT) 18.67 def. Taj Burrow (AUS) 13.57
Heat 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 16.33 def. Josh Kerr (AUS) 14.73
Heat 3: Michel Bourez (PYF) 14.90 def. Aritz Aranburu (ESP) 14.77
Heat 4: Kolohe Andino (USA) 18.10 def. Mitch Crews (AUS) 10.17
Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 13.10 def. C.J. Hobgood (USA) 13.10
Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 18.80 def. Nathan Hedge (AUS) 13.44
Heat 7: Brett Simpson (USA) 16.23 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 13.17
Heat 8: John John Florence (HAW) 19.93 def. Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 18.50
Heat 9: Kai Otton (AUS) 18.17 def. Nat Young (USA) 18.06
Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA) 19.44 def. Jadson Andre (BRA) 6.43
Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS) 18.36 def. Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 5.36
Heat 12: Dion Atkinson (AUS) 16.50 def. Mick Fanning (AUS) 5.94


Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 4 Match-Ups (1st to Quarterfinals, 2nd and 3rd to Round 5):
Heat 1: Tiago Pires (PRT), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 2: Kolohe Andino (USA), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Gabriel Medina (BRA)
Heat 3: Brett Simpson (USA), John John Florence (HAW), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 4: Kelly Slater (USA), Owen Wright (AUS), Dion Atkinson (AUS)


Only the best. We promise.


Join our community of contributors.