Distributor of Ideas
Freeride World Tour Announces Equal Pay Initiative For All Events

All these beautiful faces will now get paid equally for their efforts. Graphic: Freeride World Tour

The Inertia

Following in the footsteps of the World Surf League, and snowboarding events like the US Open, the Freeride World Tour today announced it would provide equal pay across all its platforms starting with its 2020 premiere in Hakuba, Japan January 18-25.

Twenty-seven-year-old French snowboarder Marion Haerty, a world champ twice over, has seen the sport evolve and was stoked on the announcement, to say the least: “I’ve been competing since I was 10 (and) I’ve been able to observe positive developments so that women, too, have the means to create their dreams in this discipline. For my part, I was lucky to be surrounded by incredible men who served as role models and encouraged me to keep progressing. I hope that this sends a message of empowerment to the next generations.”

Freeride World Tour CEO, Nicolas Hale-Woods called the initiative, “a major step forward to elevate women freeride skiing and snowboarding, and is simply the right and only thing to do for the FWT. Our women athletes have proven their engagement in the sport with huge progression showcased these last years, becoming role models for many around the world.”

The change affects the Freeride World Tour’s entire operation, as the league has one of the most extensive qualification and junior development leagues for skiing and snowboarding in the world.

“The move from Equal-Average to Equal Prize Money will hopefully encourage freeriders from categories with less licensed athletes compared to other categories, to participate at junior and amateur competitions and to qualify for the World Tour,” said FWT Head Judge Berti Denervaud.

Definitely a solid move.

Find the entire Freeride World Tour schedule here. The Tour’s only North American stop is February 6-12 at Kicking Horse Resort in Golden, British Columbia.


Only the best. We promise.


Join our community of contributors.