Last year's winner, Adam Melling was in fine form. Can he do it again? Photo: ASP // Cestari

Last year’s winner, Adam Melling was in fine form. Can he do it again? Photo: ASP // Cestari

The Inertia

Sunday, November 24th, is day one of the 2013 Vans World Cup of Surfing waiting period at Sunset Beach, which will immediately follow the wave starved 2013 Reef Hawaiian Pro at Ali’i Beach Park, Haleiwa.

As the second jewel of the 2013 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, the Vans World Cup of Surfing is the final ASP Prime event of the 2013 ASP season, and thus the last chance for surfers on the qualification bubble to make a late charge onto the 2014 ASP World Championship Tour.

Additionally, all 2013 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing title contenders and hopefuls will be poised to post a big result at Sunset leading into the third and final event of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing–the Billabong Pipe Masters, which has a waiting period starting December 8 and ending the 20th.

Traveling northeast from Haleiwa through the famed Rainbow Bridge and then along the North Shore’s famed seven-mile miracle, the world’s best surfers will next compete at the hallowed waves at Sunset Beach. Competing surfers will be confronted with arguably the heaviest and quite possibly the most challenging wave of the North Shore’s celebrated breaks. Ideal Sunset Beach conditions would see competitors battling on the west bowl in strong offshore trade winds with an 8 to 12 foot (Hawaiian) swell out of the WNW; however Sunset can be highly contestable at a wide range of swell heights and directions.


Winning at Sunset requires more than conquering your heat opponents. It truly involves overcoming everything that Sunset’s open ocean battlefield throws at you; from last moment shifting peaks to lineup surprising clean-up sets to quite possibly the trickiest barrel section in all of competitive surfing. Committed rail surfing on a (typically) large board is a must if the surfer is going to try to match Sunset power for power.

Sunset Beach has been the venue of some of our sports greatest performances, crowning champions deserving respect and status beyond that held at any other surfing competition. From inaugural event winner Mark Richards (1975) to last year’s triumphant result by Adam Melling to all the visiting, and winning, watermen in-between: Monteiro, Parkinson, Hobgood (CJ), Patterson (Jake and Paul), Rommelse, Powell, Potter, Gouveia, Carroll, Elkerton, Cairns, Tomson (Shaun); along with Hawaiian warriors: John Florence, Makuakai Rothman, Andy Irons, Myles Padaca, Sunny Garcia, Shane Dorian, John Gomes, Derek Ho, Hans Hedemann, Michael Ho, Dane Kealoha, and Buzzy Kerbox. Will a new name be added to this list of Sunset Beach competitive surfing lore in 2013?

All the live and on demand action can be viewed via webcast here and here.



Only the best. We promise.


Join our community of contributors.