World Surfing League (WSL) 2015 Roster

After death comes new life. Welcome the World Surfing League.

The Inertia

The 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour season came to an exciting conclusion that resulted with Gabriel Medina taking home the first-ever Brazilian shortboard men’s title, and Australian, Stephanie Gilmore, securing her sixth women’s title.

The dramatic conclusion to the 2014 surfing year also marked the official end of The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), which will become the World Surf League (WSL) starting in 2015.

The 2015 WSL Men’s Championship Tour will consist of 34 surfers – the top 22 finishers on 2014 CT season, the top 10 finishers on the 2014 Qualifying Series (QS) and two WSL wildcards.

2014 Top 22 CT:


  1. Gabriel Medina (BRA)
  2. Mick Fanning (AUS)
  3. John John Florence (HAW)
  4. Kelly Slater (USA)
  5. Michel Bourez (PYF)
  6. Joel Parkinson (AUS)
  7. Jordy Smith (ZAF)
  8. Adriano de Souza (BRA)
  9. Taj Burrow (AUS)
  10. Josh Kerr (AUS)
  11. Kolohe Andino (USA)
  12. Owen Wright (AUS)
  13. Nat Young (USA)
  14. Julian Wilson (AUS)
  15. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
  16. Bede Durbidge (AUS)
  17. Filipe Toledo (BRA)
  18. Kai Otton (AUS)
  19. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
  20. Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
  21. Freddy Patacchia Jr. (HAW)
  22. Jadson Andre (BRA)

2014 Top 10 QS (minus double qualifiers from CT):

  1. Matt Banting (AUS)
  2. Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)
  3. Adam Melling (AUS)
  4. Italo Ferreira (BRA)
  5. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
  6. Keanu Asing (HAW)
  7. Dusty Payne (HAW)
  8. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
  9. Brett Simpson (USA)
  10. Ricardo Christie (NZL)

WSL Wildcards: C.J. Hobgood (USA) and Glenn Hall (IRL)

The 2015 WSL Women’s Championship Tour will consist of 17 surfers – the top 10 finishers on the 2014 CT, the top six finishers on the 2014 QS and one WSL wildcard.


2014 Top 10 CT:

  1. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
  2. Tyler Wright (AUS)
  3. Carissa Moore (HAW)
  4. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
  5. Malia Manuel (HAW)
  6. Lakey Peterson (USA)
  7. Bianca Buitendag (ZAF)
  8. Johanne Defay (FRA)
  9. Courtney Conlogue (USA)
  10. Laura Enever (AUS)

2014 Top 6 QS (minus double qualifiers from CT):

  1. Silvana Lima (BRA)
  2. Coco Ho (HAW)
  3. Sage Erickson (USA)
  4. Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
  5. Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW)
  6. Alessa Quizon (HAW)

WSL Wildcard: Dimity Stoyle

Let the games begin!




Only the best. We promise.


Join our community of contributors.